Tag Archives: Restoration

Dendrochronology: Using Tree Rings to Answer Questions about the Pavilion’s Past

In the summer of 2013 with support from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Fort Ticonderoga began an in-depth study of the structural history of the Pavilion.  Oral history tells us that the Pavilion was built in 1826 by William … Continue reading

Posted in Collections, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Dendrochronology: Using Tree Rings to Answer Questions about the Pavilion’s Past

“In sight of the ruins, a quarter mile distant…” Part 4

  The story of a visit to Fort Ticonderoga in 1872. Part 4, Conclusion; there is always something new to discover! Seneca Ray Stoddard’s narrative of his visit to Ticonderoga and related stereo photographs provide unique documentation regarding how people … Continue reading

Posted in Collections | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on “In sight of the ruins, a quarter mile distant…” Part 4