The Archival Collections
Fort Ticonderoga's archival collections document all aspects of the site's history from the fort's construction beginning in the fall of 1755 through its restoration in the 20th century. Encompassing original manuscripts, beautiful maps and detailed photographs, the collection provides many perspectives on Ticonderoga's past. Some of the most important pieces have been transcribed and published in The Bulletin of the Fort Ticonderoga Museum.
The museum preserves several thousand manuscripts documenting the French, British and American occupation of Ticonderoga. From official military correspondence to letters written to loved ones at home, each unique document offers a glimpse into the actions of armies who fought to defend or capture Ticonderoga and the lives of the people who served at this fort through the heat of battle or through the cold of winter. Other documents preserved in the collection include military commissions and discharges, returns of soldiers and equipment, and official battle reports. Manuscript collections also document the use of the Ticonderoga peninsula during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Preserved within the archival collection are numerous military orderly books. Spanning both the French & Indian War and the American Revolution, orderly books were kept at various levels of the British and American armies recording day-to-day orders issued to troops serving at Ticonderoga and elsewhere in the Champlain Valley.
Many soldiers kept daily journals and diaries in which they recorded details of their military experience. These sources offer unique insight into soldiers' lives that can be found nowhere else.
Fort Ticonderoga preserves an impressive collection of maps related to New York, New England, and New France. In addition to geographical plans, many plans document the finer details of the fort and its related fortifications on and around the Ticonderoga peninsula.
Thousands of photographs from the 1850s through today thoroughly document Fort Ticonderoga and its surrounding landscape. Hundreds of images offer views of the fort's ruins prior to its restoration beginning in 1909. Of particular interest is the collection of stereoviews enabling viewers to see the fort's ruins in three dimensions and examine the site as it existed during the 19th century. In IIn In
To learn more about the archival holdings or set up an appointment to use the collection please visit http://www.fortticonderoga.org/history-and-collections/research