Fort Ticonderoga’s new winter series of programs continues on Sunday, February 12, at 2 pm, with “The Roar of Musketry and Cracking of Rifles: An Introduction to Weapons of the 18thCentury” presented by Curator of Collections Chris Fox. The cost is $10 per person and will be collected at the door; free for members of the Friends of Fort Ticonderoga.
Spend time with Fort Ticonderoga’s Curator of Collections Chris Fox examining a variety of 18th-century muskets, pistols, and swords used by the French, British and American armies during the French & Indian War and American Revolution. In this unique session, participants will have the opportunity to handle these rare objects and gain an appreciation of their beauty and practical functionality that can only be realized by the physical handling of these weapons.
The program takes place in the Deborah Clarke Mars Education Center at Fort Ticonderoga. Doors open at 1:30 pm for the program.
Additional Fort Fever Series programs are scheduled for March 25 and April 22. The Fort Fever Series is one of several new education initiatives in 2012. You can learn more about these new programs, including the Garden & Landscape Symposium and the Conference on Lake George and Lake Champlain, by visiting the Fort’s website at www.Fort-Ticonderoga.organd selecting the “Explore and Learn” button.
Located on Lake Champlain in the beautiful 6 million acre Adirondack Park, Fort Ticonderoga is a private not-for-profit historic site and museum that ensures that present and future generations learn from the struggles, sacrifices, and victories that shaped the nations of North America and changed world history. Accredited by the American Association of Museums, Fort Ticonderoga offers programs, historic interpretation, tours, demonstrations and exhibits throughout the year and is open for daily visitation May through October. A full schedule and information on events can be found at www.Fort-Ticonderoga.orgor phone (518) 585-2821. Fort Ticonderoga is located at 100 Fort Ti Road Ticonderoga, New York.
Photo:English turn-off barrel pistol by London Gun Maker John Easterby, 1724-1731. From the Grafton H. and Barbara W. Cook Collection, Fort Ticonderoga Museum. Chris Fox, Curator of Collections at Fort Ticonderoga, will talk about this and other weapons in the Fort’s collection at the “Fort Fever Series” program at the Fort on Sunday, February 12, at 2 pm.