Fort Carillon and its dependencies were methodically constructed from the arrival of French troops on site in 1755 until its destruction in 1759. Like Rome it was not built in a day and the sequence of its construction was related to a variety of factors from the availability of men to work, the needs of the garrison, the proximity or perceived threat from the English, as well as the season. Unlike the masonry walls that awe visitors today, much of the actual fort was constructed of wooden timbers, resting on a masonry foundation.
Iron & Stone: Building Fort Carillon will explore the construction of Fort Carillon between 1755 and 1759.
Hands-on components will allow visitors to see if “they have what it takes” to be a mason at Fort Carillon and experience how French masons achieved the level courses of their stonework.
The exhibit includes a full-scale recontruction of the first walls of the fort over the winter of 1755-56, as well as the original tools used to build Fort Ticonderoga - found in the ruins of the fort in the 20th century.
Fort Ticonderoga today is mostly a reconstruction. Original masonry, though, is the most lasting, prominent, and visible portion of the original fort that has survived from the 18th century, comprising as much as 60% of the west barracks. The exhibit will address why Fort Ticonderoga looks the way it does today.