Fort Ticonderoga Museum’s newest exhibit introduces the methods and logistics behind the construction of Fort Carillon (now Fort Ticonderoga). Using hands-on components, Iron & Stone: Building Fort Carillon allows visitors to see if they have what it takes to be a mason at Fort Carillon and experience how French masons achieved the level courses of their stonework. The exhibit is included in a Fort Ticonderoga general admission ticket and is located in the South Barracks at Fort Ticonderoga. To learn more about this exhibit and related programs click here or call 518-585-2821.
“Iron & Stone: Building Fort Carillon includes a full-scale reconstruction of the first walls of the fort over the winter of 1755-56, as well as the original tools used to build Fort Ticonderoga – found in the ruins of the fort in the 20th century,” said Matthew Keagle, Fort Ticonderoga’s Curator of Collections. “Unlike the masonry walls that awe visitors today, much of the actual fort was constructed of wooden timbers, resting on a masonry foundation. This exhibit will explore the construction of Fort Carillon between 1755 and 1759, and address why Fort Ticonderoga looks the way it does today.”
Fort Ticonderoga holds one of North America’s premier collections of 18th-century military material culture. The exhibits contain thousands of objects and tell thousands of stories, narrating the history of Fort Ticonderoga from the military culture of the 18th century to the reconstruction of the fort in the 20th century. Fully restored in 1931, the South Barracks has been the museum’s primary exhibition space. The building encompasses three stories and nearly 10,000 square feet of gallery space.
Funding for the Iron & Stone: Building Fort Carillon exhibit was made possible in part by the following supporters: Glens Falls National Bank, Amtrak, and individual donors.