Fort Ticonderoga partners with the Garden Conservancy this summer to offer a memorable and unique experience in the exquisite King’s Garden on August 26th.
During this special outing, guests will join Fort Ticonderoga experts Ann Hazelrigg (Horticulturalist-in-Residence), Stuart Lilie (Vice President of Public History), and Dr. Matthew Keagle (Curator) for an intimate tour of the Pavilion and the King’s Garden. The program includes a catered lunch and a relaxing private cruise aboard the Carillon, our 1920s-style vessel, on Lake Champlain, where participants will learn about the region’s remarkable maritime heritage like the gardens on Mount Independence that American soldiers cultivated during the Revolutionary War to meet the demand of 10,000 Continental troops.
The King’s Garden reflects the rich multilayered history of Fort Ticonderoga, with architectural and living connections dating back to the eighteenth century. The garden, surrounded by an elaborate brick wall, was planned by Marian Cruger Coffin in 1920 and features clipped barberry hedges and a reflecting pool with a bronze statue of Diana the Huntress by sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntingdon. Architect Alfred Bossom designed the formal garden and teahouse in 1912. Perched gracefully on the shore of Lake Champlain, the King’s Garden includes a 1911-1912 heirloom apple orchard and an assortment of historic lilac and black locust trees, surviving from Ticonderoga’s nationally significant story.